Impaired driving convictions can lead to financial turmoil, loss of job opportunities, fines, community service and possibly time behind bars. You should take a DWI charge very seriously, even if it is your first DWI. Missouri may take your driver’s license away for an impaired driving conviction. This is true even for a first-time DWI. An attorney could help you mount a defense against these charges. Depending on the circumstances, it may be possible to reduce or dismiss a DWI charge.
Kansas City DWI attorney Tony Miller is also a former prosecutor. You can schedule a consultation with Tony or a DWI attorney at our firm by contacting us. We can help you explain possible defense options for a first-time DWI in Missouri. Continue reading to learn more about Missouri DWI laws.
What Is a DWI in Missouri?
DWI stands for “driving while intoxicated”. In some other states, it is called “driving under the influence”. You can receive a DWI in Missouri for:
- Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of over 0.08% as an adult.
- Driving with a BAC of 0.02% under the age of 21.
- Driving as a commercial driver with a BAC of 0.04%.
- Driving while impaired by illicit, prescription or certain over-the-counter drugs.
The Penalties of a First-Time DWI in Missouri
The penalties of a first-time DWI depend on the circumstances of your arrest. However, many first-time DWIs in Missouri are Class B Misdemeanors. If convicted of a first-time DWI without aggravating factors, then you could face the following consequences:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Fines of up to $500
- Mandatory substance abuse counseling
- Community service
- Loss of driver’s license
If there were aggravating factors during your arrest, such as an accident involving injuries or deaths, then the potential criminal charges are much more serious. Not only could you face more charges in addition to a first-time DWI, the consequences for the DWI by itself could also be more serious. Two common types of aggravating factors include:
- Minors were present in the vehicle
- Your BAC was 0.15%
If you have a professional license, then you could lose it depending on the circumstances of your arrest. Your conduct might be considered by a Missouri state licensing board as grounds for revocation or suspension.
If there were aggravating factors during your arrest, then you may receive a Class A Misdemeanor, a felony, or additional criminal charges. Each case is going to be different. We strongly encourage you to contact our Kansas City DWI attorney for more information on possible penalties and defense options.
First DWI in Missouri? Contact Us for a Consultation
We strongly encourage you to review our page on Missouri DWI laws or to give us a call for a consultation. We can explain your legal rights and help walk you through your next steps. Contact us by dialing (816) 221-6006 or by using the case review form on our site.