Our Lawyers Fight DWI Penalties in Kansas City
Missouri takes impaired driving very seriously. You could suffer serious legal, professional and financial consequences for a DWI conviction. If officers arrest and charge you with a DWI in Missouri, then you should speak with an attorney as soon as possible. You need to fight DWI penalties in Kansas City immediately. As a former Municipal Court Prosecutor and Jackson County Prosecutor in Missouri, Troppito Miller Griffin, LLC co-founder Tony Miller filed lawsuits against drivers criminally charged with DWIs and participated in the training of police officers in the detection of impaired drivers. This included training officers on how to perform testing during an impaired driving stop. This just shows how experienced our DWI attorneys in Kansas City are and how they can help if you are facing criminal charges.
Never wait to contact an attorney after an arrest. A conviction could lead to time behind bars, fines and the revocation of a driver’s or professional license. You can learn more about how the Kansas City DWI attorneys at Troppito Miller Griffin, LLC can help after an arrest by scheduling a free consultation.
Will I Lose My Driver’s License for a DWI?
You receive a license suspension for a Missouri DWI conviction. However, you may be able to apply for a hardship license in Missouri, which would allow you to use your vehicle for specific purposes. You may be able to continue using your vehicle for school or work, but may need to install an ignition interlock device.
You may lose your driving privileges if police arrest you for a DWI or if you refuse a chemical test after police read you implied consent rights. After an arrest, you only have a limited time to request an Administrative License Hearing. At the hearing, you can appeal your license suspension. You may lose your license for a specified period of time depending on the outcome of the hearing.
The length of the license suspension depends on the circumstances. In Missouri, with each DWI arrest, points accumulate on your license. Accumulating too many points can lead to a longer driver’s license suspension. If you fail a breath test by blowing a blood alcohol content reading of .08 percent or greater, then you may lose your driver’s license for up to 90 days.
There are cases where you may be able to avoid a license suspension. It may also be possible to use your driver’s license for certain activities, such as driving to work or school. An attorney at Troppito Miller Griffin, LLC can fight DWI penalties in Kansas City by representing you at a license hearing or in court after your arrest.
Missouri DWI Laws
You may receive jail time or community service for a first-time DWI conviction in Missouri. Additionally, you may have to pay fines and participate in court-ordered substance abuse classes.
In Missouri, you can receive a DWI for a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater. If you are under 21 years old, then police can arrest you if your blood alcohol content is 0.02 percent or greater. The limit is 0.04 percent for commercial drivers.
There are also possible aggravating factors in a Missouri DWI case. Aggravating factors may include:
- Minors were present in the vehicle.
- You were speeding.
- Injuries or deaths occurred.
- You have multiple prior DWI convictions.
- You have a suspended license.
A DWI can be either a misdemeanor or felony depending on the circumstances. The consequences of a conviction, such as the amount of fines or time behind bars, can vary depending on the circumstances of your arrest and prior criminal history.
We encourage you to check out our page on Missouri DWI penalties for more information. You can also contact our DWI lawyers if you have specific questions.
License Suspension Hearing for a DUI/DWI
You can request an administrative hearing shortly after a DWI arrest. Missouri authorities may suspend your license after an arrest or if you fail to submit to chemical testing. During the hearing, you can make a case to keep your license or to retain limited driving privileges.
In some cases, the refusal of the breath test can be challenged in court and we can negotiate the return of your license if you qualify for a diversion in a select number of counties. It is important that you contact us as soon as possible to make sure that we can review the case and make a recommendation about what to do to try to save your license. We may suggest filing a civil lawsuit to stay the discipline of your privileges and keep you driving while we litigate the case.
In some instances, the lawyer for the Department of Revenue (the local prosecutor represents the Department of Revenue in refusal cases) may agree to a diversion that will allow your driving record to be as clean as it was before the incident and allow you to not miss a day of driving.
Alternative Sentencing for DUI/DWI
Depending on the circumstances, it may be possible to avoid jail time after a DWI conviction. Alternative sentencing may be an option for a DWI. With alternative sentencing, you may be able to avoid jail time by going to alcohol and drug rehab. Additionally, you may be able to perform community service.
Defense Options for a DUI/DWI
It may be possible to dismiss DUI or DWI charges under the right circumstances. For instance, you may be able to dismiss the charges if:
- The breathalyzer produces faulty results. Certain types of testing equipment can malfunction, such as a breathalyzer.
- The officer did not properly administer testing. If the officer failed to properly administer drug or alcohol testing, then it may be possible to throw out the results.
- Certain medical problems led to an arrest. Certain medical problems could cause you to fail a field sobriety test.
Contact Our DWI Attorneys in Kansas City
Questions about what to do after a DWI in Missouri? If you want to fight DWI penalties in Kansas City, then contact our attorneys for a free consultation. You can schedule a free consultation by dialing (816) 221-6006 or by using the contact form on our site.